Property Forum - Real Estate Forum & News  Index du Forum

Property Forum - Real Estate Forum & News
Property Website: Next-Immo Next-Immo

FAQFAQ   RechercherRechercher   MembresMembres   GroupesGroupes   S’enregistrerS’enregistrer 
 ProfilProfil   Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privésSe connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés   ConnexionConnexion 

Should I make the jump to broker?

Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet    Property Forum - Real Estate Forum & News Index du Forum -> property forum -> Real Estate Brokers
Sujet précédent :: Sujet suivant  
Auteur Message
Admin
Administrateur

MessagePosté le: Lun 10 Avr - 13:58 (2017)    Sujet du message: Should I make the jump to broker? Répondre en citant

Should I make the jump to broker?

So my situation is I have been an agent for three years, full time for about a year. I started by getting my license because I was (and am) buying a lot of investment homes and wanted to remove the middleman. Now I am I guess what you would call "full service" where I do my own investments and sell residential real estate. I like doing both because it adds some variety. Some days I am in the office, some days in the field, sometimes swinging a hammer.

Anyway, the broker I work for is extraordinarily nice and helpful. He has about twenty years experience and runs what I would call an "investment brokerage", mostly employing agents who do their own thing and don't require a lot of guidance/resources. It's a small, efficient outfit, not REMAX or Keller Williams or anything. I negotiated a deal when I started full time last year where there would be a $30,000 cap on his commission (basically my first $60k would be taxed and then I am home free). I thought that was a good deal at the time, but now I am thinking that is still way too much.

The services he provides are:

1) Obviously taking care of the licensing stuff, absorbing the liability, etc